Healer Rage

Matticus made a post today(I’ll link it later when I get home, damn work computers and blocking a lot of my blog sites!) regarding 5 reasons that healers get “Healer Rage”, or whatever you want to call it. I read it, and I couldn’t help but laugh, because I know personally I’ve been put into a few of those situations he mentioned, all since I’ve been in this new guild I’m in. Here’s how I handle all the different reasons for Healer Rage:

All Healers Are Created Equal

I agree with Matticus here. Each person has his own niche, or his own position in a raid that they like to do. Personally, I feel at home when I’m healing two tanks. For me there’s nothing quite like the feeling of keeping two people alive, who 9 times out of 10 are taking pretty good damage. Other Paladin’s I know(Like my new healing lead, who seems to think everyone works this way), feels it’s better to beacon his tank and help out on raid heals. Meh, different strokes for different folks I guess. I got some healer rage the first time I came in and healed with him. As healing lead he assigned the healers and expected everyone to follow what he said. I didn’t agree, which I made very clear, but I did as I was told. In between fights, we discussed various healing strategies and whatnot, and I definitely got this attitude from him that he did it the way he did it, and I was going to do the same. I made the choice then to not heal him if he needed it. I chose to let another healer die. Wrong of me? Maybe, but I didn’t hurt the raid at all, as I was easily able to keep both tanks alive when he DID die.

All Healing Classes Are Created Equal

I’m kind of iffy on this one. Granted, I know a Holy Pally will never equal a Shaman or Holy Priest or Druid on raid heals, but Beacon definitely makes that a little easier. Otherwise 5 mans would be insanely more difficult. In fact, I very well may start doing 5 mans without running Beacon, just to see what it’s like. The point I’m getting at is even though a class is kind of built for a certain type of healing, nothing is really stopping them from doing another type of healing, except the player themselves. I’ve seen Holy Priests and Druids that could rival a Pally on tank healing, it’s all about how you personally play. Healer rage gets involved here when you take the HEALER out of their playstyle, not necesarily the class out of its playstyle. Like in the example above, I wasn’t too comfortable at first with throwing heals onto the raid primarily with beacon on the tank, but as it turns out, it’s nothing more than a bigger 5 man experience.

Healing Is Easy

I agree and disagree with Matticus. Healing in and of itself is easy. The DECISIONS you have to make while healing are what is difficult. Who do you let die, who do you keep? I haven’t really experienced healer rage in this. When I make the decision to heal one person over another, it’s as simple as that. A decision that I made. I stand by it, as there’s not a whole lot you or I can do to change it. If you want to get all dick hurt over it, go ahead, but I won’t lose sleep that night.

A Healer Has To Carry Those Who Are Ungeared/Unprepared

This is complete and total BS. This is the fastest way to get on my “Do Not Heal” list. Gear is simple, either you’re at that level or not. And I don’t mean you need to be in full epics to tank/dps Naxx. There is definitely a minimum gear level for everything, but damned if it’s as high as some people make it out to be. What I’m talking about is people who show up, ungemmed, unenchanted, not knowing what to do, and expecting others to make up for their mistakes. I don’t care who you are, if you’re standing in the fire on Jarraxus or Gormok, and not moving, that means one or several things.
1. You went AFK in the middle of a fight. BAD!
2. You do not have DBM or some other boss mod telling you to GTFO. BAD!
3. You are IGNORING your DBM that is screaming at you to GTFO. MORE BAD!
Either way, don’t you dare come back and expect me to feel pity when you’re ass up on the ground. I don’t heal people who stand more than a second or two in fire. If you’re ass ain’t at least STARTING to move, then you’re not getting healed. And you best believe as soon as there’s a lull in the action, I’m sending you a whisper along the lines of “GTFO of fire NOOBLET!”.

Whenever There Is A Wipe, Blame The Healers First

Haven’t seen too much of this. Usually people ask the healers first, but everytime I’ve seen it happen, it’s because they want the healers point of view. The only times when we’ve wiped(Talking a raid here) and someone has immediately called out the healers, it’s cause that person was doing something dumb and the healers let them die, and they are promptly told so. As a general rule of thumb, I like to keep an eye on as many things going on as I can. I like to know why we wiped, was the DPS standing in fire, was the tank taking too much damage? Sometimes I would get too caught up in playing Whack-A-Mole with my Grid, and when I started seeing DEAD everywhere, I’d look up and see bodies and wonder just WTF happened. I’ve moved away from that as much as possible. I still play Whack-A-Mole, but I’m quite intent on keeping my fingers in every cookie jar in that raid, so that when shit hits the proverbial fan, I know who threw it in the air.

What do you guys think? When has your field of vision gone red when the Healer Rage taken over? Is it possible to have handled it a little better, or are you proud of how things played out?

-Sady

~ by Sadysm on January 14, 2010.

3 Responses to “Healer Rage”

  1. As Priest only thing that gets me annoyed is anyone who doesn’t feel like running back after a wipe.. I know .. cliche.. but whatever .. I don’t say anything but I do do my best to make him dies at least once more to inflate his repair cost.. Everything else I don’t mind.

    Oh unless you try calling me out for asshattery you accomplished brilliantly… I know how you died, I was watching .. If its my fault I admit it .. but don’t blame crap on me..

  2. Having to carry those who don’t pay attention and take more damage than they should is the only thing that really makes me see red. Everyone has a job to do and avoiding damage is part of it.

    Oh, btw, this post was actually by Lodur.

  3. So long as it’s not the tank then I don’t care. Hell, if the tank is good and I’m bored enough, I’ll tell one of the DPS to start pulling stuff off the tank so I can have someone else to heal.

Leave a Reply

 
